History of PT Pos Indonesia Through Stamps | CoHive

History of PT Pos Indonesia Through Stamps


Dutch East Postal Service

The postal service was first established on 1st April 1864 with the goal to improve the security of residence letters, particularly for individuals that traded from offices outside of Java as well as those to and from the Netherlands. During its establishment, the first postage stamp called the Dutch East Indies was first formed and printed in Utrecht, the Netherlands. It is renowned to be one of the five postage stamps such as the Japanese Occupation, War Independence, Beginning of Independence and New Order and present. All five stamps represented significant time periods for Indonesia, originating from the colonization from the Dutch to the ability to commemorate independence for Indonesia.

The Dutch East Indies showcased King Willem III of the Netherlands, which had a face value of ten cents. In 1921, a new series was known as the ‘Brandkast’ series used to serve as additional postage when posting mail in waterproof iron chests. The stamps issued following on from the Dutch East Indies began to show the culture and geography of the Indonesian archipelago.

Dai-Nippon Postal Service

In 1943, the second postage stamp was created during the Japanese Occupation, however the Japanese Military did not reissue stamps. Instead, stamps were overprinted from the previous Dutch East Indies stamp. These stamps were designed by one of Indonesia’s most popular painters such as Dick Ruhl and Basuki Abdullah, which encapsulated a traditional house, dancer, temple and a view of the rice fields.

PTT Repoeblik Indonesia

Following on from the Independence of Indonesia on 17 August 1945, the Indonesian Post Administration issued its first stamp on 1 December 1946. The stamp showcased a furious bull and Indonesian flag used to commemorate a half-year of Independence using one and two colours that were overprinted in Jakarta, Bandung and Yogyakarta.

Due to the commencement of Indonesian Post Administration’s stamp the Dutch East Indies stamps and stamps from the Japanese Occupation were stored in the headquarters of Post Telegraph and Telephone (PTT) and in other post offices. The Stamps continued to be used after they were overprinted with words like “Repoeblik Indonesia”, “Rep. Indonesia”, “Rep. Indonesia PTT”, “NRI” and “RI”.

Pertjetakan Kebajoran

In 1954, the first modern printer named Pertjetakan Kebajoran opened in Indonesia, which welcomed a chapter of in-country stamp printing. Its popularity was represented by the arrival of local designers such as Amat bin Dupri, Kurnia & Kok and Junalies and the government’s preference to produce and order stamp designs.

Around the time of its First Five Year Plan, the government issued stamps with many different themes. The general themes drew from national growth and development and related to social activities, art, culture and tourism. These themes can be organized into the following classifications:

  • Agriculture
  • Industry
  • Transportation and Communication
  • Trade, Cooperation and Business
  • Worker and Human Rights
  • Population and Family Planning
  • Social Welfare
  • Women, Children and Public Health
  • Young Generation and Sports
  • Education and Information
  • Culture and Tourism
  • Politics, Law, National Security and Foreign Relations
  • Rural Development and Environment
  • Science and Technology
  • Religion

Stamps began to represent the proof of purchase and payment for postal costs and transactions. Overtime they began to perform a range of missions and functions to fulfil ordinary postage and the logistics aspect of sending mail. These unique stamps were printed in PERURI which was the Indonesia Government Sercutiry Printing and Mint Corp, which was the merging between two state companies including, PN Pertjetakan Kebajoran and PN Artha Djaja- The State Mint.

PT Pos Indonesia Persero (present-day)

Since its establishment in 1995, PT Indonesia operates in 11 regional divisions across the country, each covering multiple provinces. These include:

  • Region 1 (Medan branch): Aceh, North Sumatra
  • Region 2 (Padang branch): Riau, Riau Islands, West Sumatra
  • Region 3 (Palembang branch): Bengkulu, Jami, South Sumatra, Bangka-Belitung
  • Region 4 (Jakarta branch): Banten, Jakarta, West Java
  • Region 5 (Bandung branch): Banten, West Java
  • Region 6 (Semarang branch): Central Java, Yogyakarta
  • Region 7 (Surabaya branch): East Java
  • Region 8 (Denpasar branch): Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, East Nusa Tenggara
  • Region 9 (Banjarbaru branch): West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, East Kalimantan and South Kalimantan
  • Region 10 (Makassar branch): North Sulawesi, Forontalo, Central Sulawesi, West Sulawesi, South Sulawesi and Southeast Sulawesi
  • Region 11 (Jayapura branch): North Maluku, Maluku, West Papua and Papua

Each region operates within several hundred inner city, outer city, and remote locations. Currently, there are 3,700 post offices nationwide with 3,190 post offices providing money transferral services in co-operation with Western Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *